Where Chris Paul ranks among point guards that never won a ring

Where Chris Paul ranks among point guards that never won a ring

An NBA ring is something all players aspire to have. However, not everyone is blessed to get a chance to win it. With the latest Finals loss, Chris Paul, unfortunately, reaffirmed his position on this infamous list. Here are our Top 5 point guards without a ring.

5. Pete Maravich

Maravich was a spectacular player whose career was never rewarded with a ring. In his brief but productive 10-year career, Maravich averaged 24 points, 5 assists, and 4 rebounds. He was named to the All-Star game five times. Pistol Pete’s game was jaw-dropping – he popularized moves such as behind-the-back dribble and between-the-legs pass. Maravich will never be forgotten due to his electric style of play, but there’ll always be an asterisk next to his name – he never won a title.

4. Steve Nash

Nash never made the Finals in his career. After failing to do so with the Phoenix Suns, Nash joined the Lakers with Kobe Bryant and Pau Gasol, but the loaded lineup failed to reach the promised land. Steve made the All-Stars 8 times and won the MVP award twice. In his 18 seasons, he averaged 14 points and 8.5 assists.

Among his career highlights include being the partner of Dirk Nowitzki in Dallas and being the point guard of the “7 seconds or less” Phoenix Suns team under Mike D’Antoni. That Suns team was fun to watch – they ran, scored, and shot the lights out, and put up monster numbers on the offensive end. Sadly, even with Amare Stoudemire and Shawn Marion at their peak, Steve Nash could not reach the NBA finals.

3. Allen Iverson

Iverson reached the Finals but succumbed to the Lakers led by Kobe and Shaq. Although the Sixers lost that series, the team became the crowd’s darling due to AI’s inspired play. He almost single-handedly carried the team to an upset against the heavily favored opponent and ruined a 16-0 Playoff run for the Lakers that season.

AI played with the Denver Nuggets, Detroit Pistons, and Memphis Grizzlies, but he never reached the Finals again. In his career, Iverson won the MVP once, made the All-Star 11 times, captured the All-Star game MVP in 2001 and 2005, and was inducted into the NBA Hall of Fame in 2016. The only one missing in his resume is an NBA ring. 

2. Chris Paul

As we all know, Paul made the Finals once in his career after 16 years in the NBA. Experts claimed it was the best chance for CP3 to win one as his career finally winds down. The Point God disagrees.

It seemed like injuries, bad luck, and playing in the Warriors era led to his postseason failures before this year. Many teams are coming back stronger next year, so CP3 will have his work cut out for him. Paul never won an MVP, but he made the All-Star 11 times. With career averages of 18 points and nine assists, it’s almost a crime Paul never won an MVP or an NBA title. He still has time to win, but he will be 37 years old next season. Time is not on his side anymore. 

1. John Stockton

The NBA’s all-time leader in assists and steals, John Stockton, is still the best point guard not to win a ring. If Chris Paul had the bad luck of playing in the West during the Warriors era, what should we say about Stockon? The Utah Jazz team ran into Michael Jordan-led Chicago Bulls in the 90s, and it took everything the GOAT had to beat them. That’s as big of a compliment one can get. 

Want to stay up to date with the latest news and reactions? Download our NBA news feed for breaking news, live stats, and game coverage.