WHAT TO WATCH NEXT? ‘Rip City Revival’ is our pick

WHAT TO WATCH NEXT? ‘Rip City Revival’ is our pick

After the great success of The Last Dance,basketball fans across the world are about to see another tasty and exciting basketball delicacy! What made the 1990s Chicago Bulls journey so unforgettable is the fact that the basketball era during which they played was full of great basketball teams, players, and coaches.

One of the most memorable teams of that particular era is undoubtedly the ’90 and ’92 NBA finalists – Portland Trail Blazers. Known for their rebounding dominance and running game, this exceptional team featured one of the greatest guard combos in the history of the game – Terry Porter and Clyde Drexler.

“We had more fun than any other team, I guarantee it!”

Clyde Drexler, ‘Rip City Revival

Coached by Rick Adelman, this incredibly deep team, which also featured one of the early international stars in shooting guard Dražen Petrović, was brought along during the late 1980s by GM Bucky Buckwalter. The aim was to bring back championship glory of the 1976-77 Blazers squad back to Rip City.

“Trail Blazers are the only professional team they had.”

Terry Porter, ‘Rip City Revival

Although they had won two Pacific Division champions titles (1991, 1992), the elite team eventually didn’t succeed to win a title but did compile a remarkable 179-67 record (72.7%) over three brilliant seasons.

Now, three decades later, Porter and Drexler share their inside stories about the 1989-1992 Blazers in a new exciting basketball documentary ‘Rip City Revival,’ which will be aired on Sunday, May 31st, 2020 at NBA TV, as a part of the Basketball Stories series.

Isiah Thomas also shared his view on the story of the 1989-1992 Portland Trail Blazers. Zeke led the Pistons to 4-1 series win in the memorable 1990 NBA finals with the Blazers.

“That Portland team, they had it all.”

Isiah Thomas, ‘Rip City Revival

Two years later, in the 1992 NBA finals, one of the most competitive teams of that era had another shot at the Larry O’Brien trophy. But, this time it was the Chicago Bulls led by Michael Jordan, who won it.

If it wasn’t for the Detroit Pistons led by Isiah Thomas in 1990, the Los Angeles Lakers led by Magic Johnson in the 1991 and the Chicago Bulls led by Michael Jordan in 1992, today we would be talking about the 1989-1992 Portland Trail Blazers in the NBA championship superlatives. It took such great teams and players to stop the Trail Blazers from winning another title. The best testament of their greatness.  

Basketball Network contributor Murray Crnogaj, the 1980s and 1990s basketball specialist, is the proud co-author of the Amazon.com TOP 100 basketball biography ‘Drazen – The Years of the Dragon.’